SSG Excellence in Economic Development Awards

SSG Excellence in Economic Development Awards

January 25, 2018

In the months leading up to the Site Selectors Guild Annual Conference, a committee of Guild Members will begin the difficult work of selecting the Annual Excellence in Economic Development Award winners. The awards program is an important part of the Annual Conference, and, since its inception, has complemented the mission of the Guild by:

  1. Promoting positive interaction between site selectors and economic developers for the purpose of exchanging ideas that advance both professions
  2. Encouraging innovation by highlighting what site selectors recognize as EDO best practices
  3. Introducing and advancing high standards for both the economic development and site selector professions

Nominations for the award are collected from all Guild Members around the world. Collectively, Guild members can draw on a deep well of project experiences that highlight how an EDO “made a difference” during the course of a site selection project. Whether the actions of the EDO resulted in the community being selected for the project or not is not important for the award recipient. When the actions of an individual or organization create in the mind of the site selector a lasting respect for the community, recognition is warranted.

Here-in resides the spirit of the Excellence in Economic Development Awards – actions of an individual or organization during the course of a site location project made a significant and positive difference for clients, consultants, stakeholders and the community as a whole. Principles to be honored include:

  • Ingenuity and creativity
  • Mastery of process
  • Going above and beyond
  • Political acumen
  • Personal, caring touch

In the next month, our nomination process will be complete and the committee will begin the difficult task of determining our winners in time for the 2018 Conference in Cincinnati. Award winners will be revealed and celebrated during lunch on Tuesday, March 20th.